It’s A Two Way Street


Glenn Beck a highly popular radio talk show host who also has a show on the FOX network, recently accused the president of racism.

“He said Obama has exposed himself as a person with “a deep-seated hatred for white people or the white culture. I’m not saying he doesn’t like white people,” Beck said. “He has a problem. This guy is, I believe, a racist.”

So here we have someone expressing a personal opinion and what happens, he gets attacks by the very people who use that word and accusation on a daily basis to promote the very cause. So what has happened a far left hate group called Color of Change, has pressured advertisers of his show to pull their ads. Far left companies like Geico and Progressive Insurance have, which is no surprise, but a company in my backyard Sargento Cheese has also bowed to these people.

I guess they do not realize that a small company who depends on all of  their customers, can also make poor decisions. By pulling the ad they are telling millions of us that our opinions do not matter, that they do not care how we feel, that only special interest groups matter to them.

This is not written solely in support of Glenn Beck but for the right of every American to have free speech. So I took the time to write to Sargento and express how I felt about their decision.

I was sad to see that your company has bowed to the pressure of outside groups and pulled your advertising from the Glenn Beck Show. While that is your right to advertise where you want it is also my right to support who I buy my products from. Being in Wisconsin I always try to support local business and the dairy farmers, but because of this poor decision by your company, I will no longer purchase your product and will encourage as many people as I can to also make a different choice. It was clear that you made this choice not because of personal opinion but because you want to be politically correct.

Posted on August 16, 2009, in Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

